Ofcom Awards Nine New Community Radio Licences

Ofcom has announced the award of nine new community radio licences in England and Wales.

The new stations will serve communities in Cannock and Rugeley in Staffordshire, Cinderford in the Forest of Dean, Keynsham, Yeovil, and Minehead in Somerset, Swanage and Dorchester in Dorset, Newquay in Cornwall and the Rhondda valleys in South Wales.

Community radio services are provided on a not-for-profit basis, focusing on the delivery of specific social benefits to a particular geographical community or a community of interest.

Licences have been awarded to:

Cannock Chase Radio (Chase Media Training CIC)

Dean Radio (Forest Community Media)

  • Website: www.triangleradio.co.uk
  • Dean Radio will be a community radio service for Cinderford in the Forest of Dean.

Keynsham Town Community Radio (KTCR)

Ninesprings FM (Radio Ninesprings)

Purbeck Coast FM (The Swanage Pier Trust)

Radio Newquay (Radio Newquay and Media Limited)

  • Website: www.radionewquay.com
  • Radio Newquay will serve the people of Newquay and the surrounding area.

Rhondda Radio (Rhondda Radio Limited)

Ridgeway Community Radio

  • Website: www.ridgewayradio.org.uk
  • Ridgeway Community Radio is for the over-50s living in Dorchester and surrounding areas of West Dorset.

West Somerset Radio (West Somerset Radio CIC)

  • Website: www.westsomersetradio.co.uk
  • West Somerset Radio will broadcast a service to residents, businesses and visitors in Minehead and surrounding villages.

A statement setting out the main determining factors for the award of the community radio licences referred to above can be found on the Ofcom website. Community radio licences are awarded for a five-year period.


So by my reckoning that means 68 stations still to go?

There were the 6 awarded last week (published on 1st Feb), @ianh, with 4 non-awards. Out of this ‘first phase’ a total of 22 awards have been made and 6 non-awards leaving 8 applications to be announced which Ofcom expects by the end of February. There are then the 44 applications received from areas overlapping with an existing licence.