Ofcom awards 8 new community radio licences

Ofcom has announced the award of eight new community radio licences in England and Scotland.

The new stations will serve communities in Coventry, Leeds, Reading and Waterlooville in England; and Glasgow and Peterhead in Scotland.

Community radio services are provided on a not-for-profit basis, focusing on the delivery of specific social benefits to a particular area or community of interest. More than 250 community radio stations are currently on air.

The eight new community radio licences have been awarded to:

2tr (Two Towns Radio) (Basingstoke Broadcasting Company Limited)

  • 2tr will be a community radio service for Reading with a particular focus on listeners under-40.

Buchan Radio (Buchan Community Radio CIC)

  • Website: www.buchanradio.com
  • Buchan Radio will broadcast to communities in Peterhead and the surrounding areas.

East Leeds FM (Heads Together Productions Limited)

  • Website: www.chapelfm.co.uk
  • East Leeds FM will be an arts-based community radio service targeting disadvantaged communities in East Leeds.

Groove City Radio (Groove City Radio Limited)

  • Groove City Radio will be a specialist music service for 20-50 year old listeners in Glasgow, featuring dance, soul, electronic and house music.

Leeds Dance Community Radio (Leeds Dance Community Radio Limited)

  • Leeds Dance Community Radio will be a specialist urban and dance music service for listeners in Leeds.

Revival FM (Revival FM (Glasgow) Limited)

  • Website: www.revival.fm
  • Revival FM will be a community radio service offering a Christian perspective for listeners in Glasgow.

The Flash (The Flash On Air Limited)

  • Website: www.theflashonair.co.uk
  • The Flash will serve musicians and the wider community of Waterlooville with a focus on original music from local artists and rock, blues and folk.

Vanny Radio (Vanny Radio-Community Broadcasters)

  • Website: www.vannyradio.com
  • Vanny Radio will serve the BME community and young people under the age of 25 in Coventry.

The licences are awarded for a five-year period. A statement setting out the main determining factors for the award of the licences above can be found on the Ofcom website.