Future small-scale DAB licensing rounds

The list of multiplex licence areas that Ofcom plans to advertise in Round Three of small-scale DAB licensing is available:

  • Bedford
  • Belfast & Lisburn
  • Coventry
  • Darlington & Bishop Auckland
  • Dundee
  • East Hull
  • Leicester
  • Lincoln
  • Llandudno & Betws-y-Coed
  • Middlesbrough & Redcar
  • Milton Keynes
  • North Aberdeen
  • Nottingham
  • Oxford
  • Rutland & Stamford
  • Shaftesbury & Blandford Forum
  • South Aberdeen
  • Swansea
  • Swindon
  • Taunton
  • Warminster, Devizes & Trowbridge
  • West Hull
  • Wetherby & Harrogate
  • York
  • Yorkshire Coast

Advertisements for multiplex licences in London and South East England, originally planned for Round Four, are now likely to be published at a later date. This is because of delays in obtaining international spectrum coordination agreements in this part of the UK.

The pressure on available spectrum in that part of the UK means that Ofcom will also need to expand the size of the South East England ‘macro area’ to include some additional locations which were previously outside it.

Ofcom plans to announce the licence areas to be advertised in Round Four at the same time as the Round Three licence advertisements are published in late 2021 or early 2022.

For the reasons outlined above, Round Four is unlikely to include any areas in the South East England macro area but instead will include areas from across other parts of the UK.